Friday, July 29, 2016

Attachments

Attachments 
By Rainbow Rowell
Dutton, 2011. 323 pgs. Fiction

Lincoln O'Neill took a job at as an "internet security officer" at a newspaper, but he didn't realize that he would basically be reading other people's email.  He imagined building firewalls and installing security software, not checking for gamblers and inappropriate workplace language.  When Lincoln comes across Beth and Jennifer's emails, he knows their conversation is just a harmless (but hilarious) discussion of their personal lives.  But he can't help being drawn in by their stories.  By the time he realizes he's falling for Beth, it's way too late to introduce himself.

Rainbow Rowell has a knack for coming up with quirky characters who get tangled up into interesting situations.  This is her first book, and will appeal to chick lit fans even more than her later books.  If you enjoy her as an author, this book won't disappoint.  It's a great read-alike for Sophie Kinsella (specifically Can You Keep a Secret), and a great, light, summer read. 

BHG

No comments: