Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Hope Springs

Hope Springs
By Sarah M. Eden
Shadow Mountain, 2014. 391 pages. Romance.

Part two of the Longing for Home saga, Hope Springs follows the story of Katie Macauley, an Irish immigrant who arrives in a small Wyoming frontier town and finds herself in the middle of a bitter rivalry between the Irish and non-Irish communities. In the second book, Katie's courage will be put to the test as tensions escalate and tempers reach the boiling point. And she will finally have to decide between the two men she loves.

Sarah Eden has made a name for herself with her clean-read, Regency romances, so her Western setting Longing for Home series is a bit of a departure for her. But the departure works marvelously. The books themselves are much longer than her Regency books, which allows for greater character development. And, unlike her Regency novels, the outcomes for the characters are not unfailingly happy, although the plot resolves itself in the best way possible.


No comments: